Government Removes PITB Chairman Umar Saif

The Punjab government has successfully removed Dr. Umar Saif the Chairman of Punjab Information & Technology Board (PITB). No replacement has been taken place till now.

Dr. Umar Saif, who was appointed as the Chairman of Punjab Information & Technology Board in November 2011.

In a statement that was shared by Dr. Umar Saif who has confirmed the development.

The Statement which furthers read as:

“All good things must come to an end. It was a privilege to serve this country for 7 years.

I served 5 successive governments and established two institutions: PITB, which became the main reform engine for the government with over 300 projects in Punjab and other provinces, and ITU, which in just 5 years, became one of the premier technology universities of Pakistan with close to 100 PhD faculty members.

Plan9, PlanX and e-rozgaar paved new avenues of entrepreneurship, innovation and employment for the youth of Pakistan.

I am truly proud of all my team members. 1,700 fantastic professionals at PITB; 112 faculty members at ITU.

In the end, I served for as long as I could — beyond provincial boundaries and political divides — and gave it all I had. I am sure those who come in future will take these institutions to new heights. Pakistan zindabad!”

In April 2018, Mr. Umar Saif who was appointed as the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) Chair for using the Information & Communication Technology for the Development (ICTD).

Dr. Umar Saif is also well known and famous personality in Pakistan and he is known for his work on using ICT solutions for developing world problems. He is the founder of Plan9, Pakistan’s largest startup incubator and is often credited as one of the main forces behind IT ecosystem in Pakistan.

Dr. Umar Saif who holds a BSc degree from University of Management Sciences and PhD in Computer Science from University of Cambridge, where he was Commonwealth Scholar at Trinity College.

Dr. Umar Saif who has received the MIT Technovator Award in 2008 and was named as the “Young Global Leader” by the World Economic Forum in 2010.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button